BPUT Name and Tag Line

Vice Chancellor


Prof.(Dr.) Chitaranjan Tripathy

Vice Chancellor, BPUT Odisha


Prof. Chitaranjan Tripathy was born in the year 1960 at village Mahukhanda under Bhubaneswar Sub-Division of Odisha. He joined as the Vice Chancellor of the Biju Patnaik University of Technology, Odisha, in November 2017. Prior to this, he has also served as the Vice Chancellor of Sambalpur University for the 03 years term from 2014-2017. With his dynamic leadership the Sambalpur University has undergone all round development and was accredited with NAAC–A Grade. He was also instrumental in bringing the Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Sambalpur to Sambalpur University Campus at Jyoti Vihar, Burla in 2016-17.

Prof. Tripathy officiated as the Vice Chancellor of Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology (VSSUT), Burla and as the Principal of University College of Engineering (UCE), Burla against vacant posts. The Institution UCE, Burla was upgraded to the Unitary University Status of VSSUT, Burla under the leadership of Prof. Tripathy as its Principal.

Prof. Tripathy joined as Professor at UCE, Burla in 1998 and has worked in various capacities as Dean Academic Affairs, Dean Planning & Coordination, HOD Electronics and Tele Communication Engineering, HOD Computer Science & Engineering, HOD Information Technology apart from other Administrative & Academic assignments as the Chair Person of the national and institutional level committees including NAAC and UGC Teams.

Prof. Tripathy holds both his degrees Ph.D and M.Tech from the IIT, Kharagpur. He completed his UG(Engg.), Intermediate and School Studies respectively from Sambalpur University, BJB College, Bhubaneswar and Puri Zila School, Puri, Odisha.

To his credit he has authored around 145 Research Papers in various peer reviewed Journals and Conferences at the International & National levels and also 15 nos. of scholars have been awarded with Ph.D degrees under his supervision.

Prof. Tripathy has completed a good number of sponsored Research Projects. He was decorated with the Prestigious Sir Thomas Ward Memorial Award & Medal and many other Research Awards for his Published Works in the areas of Parallel Computing & Networking.

Prof. Tripathy was the recipient of National Rural Talent Scholarship, National Scholarship and MHRD, Govt. of India Fellowships during his studies at different stages.

Prof. Tripathy is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers(India) and Fellow(Hon.) of Indian Society for Technical Education and a life Member of Instrument Society of India.


Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT)
Chhend Colony, Rourkela, Odisha-769015
Phone : (0661) 2482556, Fax : (0661) 2482562,
For Examination related enquiry call on (0661)2482560
Copyright © 2015 Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT)., All Rights Reserved.